Sweet and Spicy Seitan Suya and Coconut Rice {Cameroon}

Sweet and Spicy Seitan Suya.  How’s that for alliteration?

Aside from the Cocoa San Rival, this is my favorite and it takes 10 times less time.  You’re going to love it.  I challenge you to feed it to a meat-eater and see if they can figure out that they are actually eating wheat.  If anyone does this, please let me know how it goes!

When researching Cameroon recipes, I just kept coming back to suya–strips of flank steak grilled on a skewer, covered in a sweet and spicy peanut mixture.

Seitan Suya (Vegan), Enough for 6 skewers

Ingredients:

  • One 8 oz box strips or chunks of seitan
  • 1 tsp cane sugar
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 cup ground peanuts
  • oil for brushing (I used peanut oil)

Directions:

  1. Mix sugar, spices, salt, and peanuts together.
  2. Rub onto seitan strips.
  3. Place strips/chunks onto bamboo or metal skewers.
  4. Cover and let marinate for as much time as you can stand it.
  5. Preheat grill or oven.  We have NO outdoor space here, so I grilled on the rack in the oven at 425*
  6. Rub oil on skewers to prevent them from sticking to the rack/grill.
  7. Grill for approximately 4 minutes on each side.

Love cooking with seitan; you don’t have to worry if your meat’s rare in the middle.  It just has to be warmed through.

We ate our skewers with a coconut rice, made with carrots, yellow bell peppers, and thyme.  The topping is a bit of the leftover peanuts mixed with the spice mixture.  It added a desirable crunch to the rice.

These skewers and empanadas are definitely on my make-after-the-project list!

Tomorrow, the African recipes come to a halt, albeit a very one.  Mezze platter coming your way!

Categories: African Food, East African Food, Food, Rice, Vegan, Vegetarian | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Sweet and Spicy Seitan Suya and Coconut Rice {Cameroon}

  1. Anjanae

    Would this dish stand without some of the spice? It looks delicious but I need it to be palatable for a youngster. Specifically the ginger and the chili.

  2. Wow…you just changed my life a lil bit with this recipe! lol! As a daughter of a Nigerian man, Suya (the beefy kind) is a staple at every bbq we have, and LOTS of it. Being that this will be my first summer as a vegan, I’m soooo excited that I can still participate in the tradition, and maybe mine will come out so tasty that they give up their old, bloody version?!

    In other news, I stumbled upon your blog while searching for baked festival, and I’m so glad I did…this style of eating is right up my alley!! Thanks for sharing your culinary explorations 🙂

    • Same here. I’m Nigerian and vegetarian. There’s always suya at every gathering and everybody eats it except me. I’ve found myself craving suya lately so I did a Google search and voila, I found this recipe! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I am so going to try it out…now I’m excited for spring and bbq!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

