Irio {Kenya}

I got home from work late on Tuesday night.  (I almost didn’t make it home in time for New Girl, which I then forgot to watch…)  I was not strong in the Pearl Project spirit, so I was thankful that I had already planned to make a dish that was not too labor intensive.

Meet Irio.

Irio is basically a bean, corn, and potato mash with a splash of greens.  It is a common dish throughout East Africa.  There are oodles of varieties out there.  Mine included, onion, a can of yellow corn, a can of pinto beans, 3 large potatoes (boiled, then cubed), and 1 1/2 cups of finely chopped spinach.  There was some salt, pepper, and paprika involved too.  I know, I should have probably gone the extra step and made ugali (I even bought white corn meal!) with the irio.  But we had leftover rice.  And wasting food is no good.  I also added a dollop of plain yogurt to the top for a bit of extra tangyness.  Simple meal.  Not mind blowing.  But solid.

Categories: African Food, East African Food, Food, Vegetarian | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Irio {Kenya}

  1. I love African food!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

