Valentine’s Fondue {Switzerland}

Happy post-Valentine’s Day post!

Wow.  I cannot believe how far behind on posting I am.  We’ll have to do two-a-days until I catch up.  If only I could force myself into that sort of workout regimen.  But I digress…

Nearly a month ago, St. Valentine came to visit.  He convinced Jordan to buy me these:

St. Valentine also convinced me that it was okay to eat way more cheese than is recommended.  But Fondue is romantic, right?

I stuck with a very basic cheese/tomato fondue:

  • 1 15 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup Emmental cheese
  • 1/2 cup Gruyere cheese
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine

The cheeses are expensive, but the wine was very affordable.  We rarely spend over 12-14 dollars on a bottle; I’m not sure my palette is sophisticated enough for expensive wines.  There was a very interesting NPR story on wine tasting lately that backs me up.

‘Twas lovely.  We dipped pieces of roasted potatoes and broccoli and baguette into the mix.

Our fondue was supplemented with some Swiss chard that had been sauteed with onions and garlic (splash of apple cider vinegar, naturally).

I’m afraid there were no leftovers as far as the fondue was concerned.  Maybe a stray piece of baguette or something.  That mix was delicious and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for an easy fondue mix.

We did also need dessert, since it was Valentine’s Day.  I’ve never had chocolate fondue anywhere other than at my parents’ place.  I’m certain ours was a bit too thick, but that does not affect the flavor whatsoever 🙂  I used dark chocolate, almond milk, and vanilla extract for our fondue.  You can see that we went for fruit and pretzels for dippers.  Between the fruit and the broccoli, I had myself convinced this meal was healthy.

Here’s hoping your romance and tasty cooking have lived on since February 14th!

Get ready for the two-a-days.

Categories: Desserts, European Food, Food, Uncategorized, Vegetarian | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

