Amaretto Red Adzuki Bean Cake

Let me be clear, this is my take on a traditional Chinese cake….meaning it’s lost a little bit of the traditional part.  Since tasting a delicious red bean ice cream at Knoxville’s Taste of Thai, I have been curious about the possibilities of the adzuki bean.  Then, in my research for the Chinese New Year, I discovered a steamed red bean cake.  Steaming cake takes more time, is stickier, and probably appeals less to the people I need to eat my food.  Thus, my version.

Amaretto Red Adzuki Bean CakeServes 12

Prep time: 10 minutes, Bake time: 45 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 4 cups white rice flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 15 oz. can adzuki beans (azuki and aduki are the same thing)
  • 1 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • sliced almonds for garnish

Directions:

  1. Preheat the over to 350 degrees F.
  2. Mix eggs, applesauce, soda, flour, and sugars into a large bowl.  Beat with mixer until well-blended.
  3. Transfer just over half of the batter into an oiled 8×8 baking pan and put in oven.  Let bake for 10 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, drain and rinse the adzuki beans.  Mash them with a fork or pastry cutter.   Add the almond extract and mix into the mash.
  5. Pour the bean mixture onto the bottom layer of cake.
  6. Okay, yeah, my numbering system is now off with the above photo.  I struggle with formatting issues when I type posts at midnight…No. 7.  Cover the bean mixture up with the remaining batter.
  7. Bake for twenty more minutes.  When cake is almost completely set, garnish the top with sliced almonds. 
  8. Bake for ten more minutes, until toothpick, fork, or chopstick (your choice!) comes out clean.  Be advised that the beans will always be mushy, so that chopstick will most likely never be completely clean.

This cake has a very subtle sweet flavor, which lends itself to drizzles of honey and chocolate syrup.  It would also go well with a scoop of ice cream or almond ice cream, if you prefer.

Categories: Asian Food, Desserts, Food, Vegetarian | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Amaretto Red Adzuki Bean Cake

  1. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment
    (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

